Stock recommendations?

Anything and Everything FN/FAL related
That One Guy

Stock recommendations?

Post by That One Guy »

I guess now is a good time to post this, since I’m still awaiting approval for my FAL files account.

I’m new to FAL’s, and picked up an Imbel/Imbel build back around Thanksgiving. It has the DSA X-series furniture on it and I absolutely hate the buttstock, as it grinds my cheek to a pulp. I’m not recoil-adverse at all, but it’s by far the most unpleasant gun to shoot that I own. I have a .416 Rigby that is less punishing to shoot than the FAL. It also has an Enterprise Arms zero climb muzzle brake, which I was told adds to the problem. I bought a Belgian style flash hider that I plan to swap out sooner or later. Hopefully that will help some.

Is there a stock that is more comfortable to shoot, or is that just how it is with FAL’s? I’m partial to wood, but am ok with plastic if that’s what it takes to make it shootable for me.

Gw104

Re: Stock recommendations?

Post by Gw104 »

Have you tried adjusting the gas?

That One Guy

Post by That One Guy »

Gw104 wrote:
Sat Jul 11, 2020 7:31 pm
Have you tried adjusting the gas?
Yeah. Even with the gas wide open, it pops my cheekbone pretty damn hard. I’m curious if it has to do more with the muzzle break than the stock itself...

But I think the stock compounds the problem because I have to bury my cheek so deep into it to be able to see the sights, it just makes it that much worse. And I’ve read other peoples reports of the X-series stock being pretty rough on the cheeks.

ThunderGod

Post by ThunderGod »

Swap that Entreprise barrel whip for a combo brake, and either add a low DSA pad, or replace the X-Stock with a Belgian, STG or Imbel style butt. You'll love the difference.
Have Hammer, Will Smite

Alpha-17

Post by Alpha-17 »