PDA

View Full Version : towing huge travel trailer -accident

Shootability
June 22, 2009, 20:35
I saw an accident and want to understand what happened.

I was heading south on I65 BHM to MOB and I saw an Excursion pulling a very long trailer - it looked brand new but not one of the really deluxe ones - in any event it started swaying - I thought this might not go so well and slowed back - it swayed back and forth the arc getting bigger each cycle and then jack knifed off to the right - everything flipped - the two passengers got out and dusted themselves off.

I could not really tell what happened but my guess was the guy was trying to slow to make an exit and it did not want to slow - it seemed to me if he had accelerated it would have pulled the unit back straight but braking may have made it worse.

Somebody out there know what makes these things setup an oscillation that is catastrophic? If it happens how do you recover. I have no experience with them but this was not the first time I have seen one jackknifed.

W.E.G.
June 22, 2009, 20:38
http://auto.howstuffworks.com/auto-parts/towing/vehicle-towing/maneuvers/how-to-avoid-jackknifing1.htm

Eric Bryant
June 22, 2009, 20:51
According to the reading I've done on the subject, there are at least five different causes of trailer sway (well, six, actual - but that last one is related to traveling backwards). It's a very complex phenomenon.

Most of what you see happening with light trucks and RVs is related to improper loading of the trailer, with the consequence of insufficient tongue weight. The problem gets worse as the ratio of trailer weight to tow vehicle weight increases. If this is combined with excessive vehicle speed and a "noise" input - side wind, big bump, etc. - trouble will occur.