PDA

View Full Version : Any Buell riders?

Powderfinger
April 23, 2006, 11:45
Lately I have been considering getting a Buell Ulysses XB12X. Does anyone have one? Rode one? Is all the hype about it's capabilities true? Roorda in Thunder Press wet his pants over it. What about the rider position on that TALL baby? I'm old school (low and leaning back). A test ride is needed I know, but I'm looking for some real world input.

J. Armstrong
April 23, 2006, 13:10
I can't comment directly about the Ulysses because I haven't ridden one - in fact I CAN'T ride one with that stratosheric saddle height !!! The whole adventure/touring genre is a bit out of my area of interest anyway, which isn't to say that you shouldn't go for it if it does trip your personal trigger !!! All the reviews on the bike have been very good, it seems.
I can comment on Buells in general, as I have been riding a 2002 M2 Cyclone for 4 years now, and I have been surprised and pleased with the bike. These earlier tube framed Buells have had a spotty reputation for quality control, but mine has been absolutely trounle free in 14k miles. An acquaintance with an identical 2001 M2 has had some probs, which seems to reinforce the feeling that the last of these bikes were finally sorted out, and the newer "fuel in frame" Buells seem to be very well made and reliable.