PDA

View Full Version : Camper advice needed, towing capacity too

Greywolf1
April 20, 2006, 07:04
I am considering getting a pull-behind camper, and need a little advice.

If a car manufacturer says that the towing capacity of a vehicle is 3500 pounds, is it REALLY only 3500 pounds, or could you, say, tow 4000-4500 pounds safely without damage to the vehicle, especially if you drove normally and not accelerated hard or went too fast?

Is there a particular manufacturer of campers that is consistently better and more reliable/less prone to problems than others?

Any special hitches or devices to consider getting for either the camper or the towing vehicle?

We are thinking of getting a V6 RAV-4 (new one) that has a towing capacity of 3500 pounds, but most of the campers we are looking at are about 3800-4000 pounds.

raeldridge
April 20, 2006, 12:05
realizing I am not an expert...

and realizing that the manufacturer is going to 'de-rate' things

when you get up close to the edges of the recommendations on things that might kill you makes me nervous.

you may be able to safely tow something out of the limits on level ground. stopping, unless you have a brake controller and are using the brakes on the trailer also.

staying in-control and going up and even more importantly *down* hills may be another subject.

I'm sorry, in some subjects I'm the worlds biggest coward. and some of the interest is selfish, since I may be the guy going by you on the interstate.

seriously, I could see doing it for very short trips. but I would think long and hard about it.

and God forbid, something bad happens on the roadway. if there's legal action, a good crash reconstructionist is going to look at the limits and ratings on the vehicles.

Mad Dog 7.62
April 20, 2006, 14:28