Go Back   The FAL Files > Weapon Specific Forums > The AR Files

Notices

Old March 22, 2010, 12:44   #1
johnmac
Veteran Member
Bronze Contributor

FALaholic #: 17274
Mixed Manufacturer upper/lower fit?

I had an add for a DPMS upper in the marketplace. Below is why I particularly want a DPMS. Well, I have now found the DPMS upper I was looking for.

I originally bought a BCM upper to go on my DPMS lower and there was a lot of wiggle between the U/L. I could shim out the play but don't like that solution.

So, I then bought a BCM lower. When I matched the BCM upper with a BCM lower. The fit was great without any modifications needed.

I'm fairly new to ARs and was surprised to find what I'm guessing is manufacturers tolerance variance in upper/ lower fit.

I'd like to get a good fit on my lower without having to go with a buffer. I'm hoping to find the same fit experience with DPMS/DPMS as I did with BCM/BCM. But who knows? Now that I have found an upper, I'll Let you know how it fits.

What is your experience with differing or the same mans. quality of fit with Uppers/lowers? Any such thing as a chart as to what U/L fits best with the other?

Last edited by johnmac; March 22, 2010 at 14:47.
johnmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 23, 2010, 00:17   #2
Celtic warrior
Registered

FALaholic #: 4012
I had a Colt A1 upper mated to an EA lower with no issues, I then bought a no-name A2 upper (for the cartridge deflector) off GB and after assembling it the holes were a good .025 off I GB'd that one then bought an upper from EA, assembled it and it was a nice precise fit to the lower.

So yes, tolerances DO differ as you (and I ) both found out.
Old March 23, 2010, 00:48   #3
gauraprema
Registered

FALaholic #: 33471
d

Colt and bushmaster seem to be good matches.
Genesis 3:23-24