The FAL Files  

Go Back   The FAL Files > Weapons Discussion > Ammunition

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 23, 2008, 15:16   #1
Zonie
Registered
 
Zonie's Avatar
 
FALaholic #: 20441
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 419
Exclamation $805 For a Case of Nigerian 7.62 ??

http://gunbroker.com/Auction/ViewIte...Item=116447103

Gunbroker, of course - but even for GB this shocks me!

What is the world coming to?
Zonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 23, 2008, 19:35   #2
BUFF
Old Fart
Silver Contributor
 
FALaholic #: 789
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 7,141
Someone's smoking crack.

Of course, it will only take one uninformed idiot to make the crack smoker's wish come true.
__________________
BUFF
BUFF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 24, 2008, 01:57   #3
Zonie
Registered
 
Zonie's Avatar
 
FALaholic #: 20441
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 419
What's astonishing is that there are so far 28 bidders for this...
I'm thinking there's some funny business going on, like the seller has multiple accts...
Zonie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 24, 2008, 08:17   #4
BUFF
Old Fart
Silver Contributor
 
FALaholic #: 789
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah
Posts: 7,141
Wouldn't be the first time a shill bidder jacked up a sale price beyond reason. If that is the case here, I hope he chokes on his ammo instead of victimizing somebody new to the hobby.
__________________
BUFF
BUFF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 24, 2008, 09:19   #5
shlomo
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 12779
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: elsewhere
Posts: 12,007
They are going to need your bank account information in order to get the ammo into the country.
shlomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old November 24, 2008, 10:47   #6
Noah Zark
Registered
 
Noah Zark's Avatar
 
FALaholic #: 5024
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: PA
Posts: 667
I get a real charge out of the verbiage in these ads; I've taken some license with the subject GB ad only to make a point.

"Up for auction is a _________________ in Excellent Condition. I don't really know anything about these . . . " Then how the phuck do you know it's in excellent condition?"

"This ____________ was stored in a Locker and I don’t know how long it was stored." How do you know the storage location or conditions, if you don't know anything about the item?

As far as condition, it looks like new in it's in was in a sealed box until I opened to take pictures for this auction. I think it is (new old stock). How do you know, if you don't know anything about the item you're selling?

"I have been selling on eBay for the past 7 years and have over a thousand feedbacks. Since I didn’t have any ammo or gun related items, opening an account on gunbroker did not cross my mind." Your whifty ad wording speaks volumes about your being an experienced eBay dumpster diver, Ace. You say you have over 1000 feedbacks, but conveniently don't mention how many are positive and negative,?

Further, dear GB seller, you claim you don't know schit just so you can deny any potential after-sale issues with the item, but you apparently know enough to set the starting price?

Every since eBay eliminated the peddling vast majority of firearm-related stuff, the seasoned eBay dumpster-diving junk peddlers have migrated to GB, GA, and AA and completely polluted those ponds.

Caveat Emptor!

Noah
__________________
Resistance is NOT futile. Resistance is voltage divided by current.
Noah Zark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 07, 2008, 15:48   #7
win308
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 10585
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 437
It's head stamp is OFN.....isn't that Pakistani or Indian mfg??
win308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 07, 2008, 16:06   #8
ammolab
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 10923
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,689
Quote:
Originally posted by win308
It's head stamp is OFN.....isn't that Pakistani or Indian mfg??
Nope it is Nigerian mfg..... And Brand new Seller with a brand new buyer...

This is just a JOKE.....some jerks trying to be funny.
ammolab is online now   Reply With Quote
Old December 07, 2008, 16:44   #9
win308
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 10585
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 437
OK.....I looked it up...it is Nigerian, (who would have guessed there was such).
win308 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old December 09, 2008, 08:05   #10
chromestarhustler
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 19815
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: kansas
Posts: 3,427
its superb ammo, just to high priced.
__________________
My God in heaven, watch over me and please let me be victorous over mine ememies, but if i must fall in battle let me be brave

i am a member of the ammo hoarders of america, ask me about selling your ammo for my fun and your profit
chromestarhustler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 20:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2012 The FAL Files