The FAL Files  

Go Back   The FAL Files > Weapon Specific Forums > The Shotgun Files

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 08, 2019, 18:40   #1
Nathaniel01
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 72681
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 280
Upgrade A5 to load without pressing bolt release?

Anybody done this? Appears one just needs to obtain the 2 part carrier and a few other parts. Just got my first A5, probably a 1954 and I was surprised I had to press the carrier release with every round I shove into the magazine.
Nathaniel01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 09, 2019, 08:02   #2
meltblown
Registered
Bronze Contributor
 
FALaholic #: 34604
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SA Tx
Posts: 14,962
Not following you. If the bolt is open, mine will close and chamber the round when you feed it the 1st shell.
__________________
Giving people the benefit of the means itís ok to screw you over.

Expect the worst, and you'll never be disappointed.

Before trying to beat the odds, make sure you can survive the odds beating you.
meltblown is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 09, 2019, 17:55   #3
Nathaniel01
Registered
 
FALaholic #: 72681
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Parts Unknown
Posts: 280
On the older ones you have to press the button to load each round into the mag(first round will then go into the chamber) and the press the button to load each subsequent round you want in the mag. This was improved sometime in the later 1950s and is referred to as the "Speedfeed", although this feature has more to do with loading the first round from the mag into the chamber(but without having to press the button).
Nathaniel01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old June 09, 2019, 21:25   #4
AFeod
Registered
Bronze Contributor
 
FALaholic #: 75606
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Lake Tahoe
Posts: 859
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nathaniel01 View Post
On the older ones you have to press the button to load each round into the mag(first round will then go into the chamber) and the press the button to load each subsequent round you want in the mag. This was improved sometime in the later 1950s and is referred to as the "Speedfeed", although this feature has more to do with loading the first round from the mag into the chamber(but without having to press the button).
Quote:
Not following you. If the bolt is open, mine will close and chamber the round when you feed it the 1st shell.
Wow, I was mistaken I guess. I thought that they were designed to chamber the first round fed. Then they all go to the mag tube. Learn sumthin new everyday. Thatís how my a5 magnum works, but sheís from the late 60ís (I think)
__________________
EOD..."initial success, or total failure"
AFeod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old June 09, 2019, 21:48   #5
meltblown
Registered
Bronze Contributor
 
FALaholic #: 34604
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SA Tx
Posts: 14,962
Quote:
Originally Posted by AFeod View Post
Wow, I was mistaken I guess. I thought that they were designed to chamber the first round fed. Then they all go to the mag tube. Learn sumthin new everyday. Thatís how my a5 magnum works, but sheís from the late 60ís (I think)
Mines from the early 50s. 2 3/4 only. Gotta keep your fingers out of the way,
__________________
Giving people the benefit of the means itís ok to screw you over.

Expect the worst, and you'll never be disappointed.

Before trying to beat the odds, make sure you can survive the odds beating you.
meltblown is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 14:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
©1998-2018 The FAL Files