The FAL Files  

Go Back   The FAL Files > Weapons Discussion > Optics

Notices

Old February 03, 2018, 09:42   #1
Douglas S Graham
Registered

FALaholic #: 19332
Need help, scope and rings, RPR

Got my RPR in 6.5, need a scope and rings that hopefully don't need to be lapped. Suggestions?? Minimum I'm thinking is the Nikon 1000 black. Looking at Nightforce and Vortex as well. Thinking 5-15 power??

TIA!!!
Douglas S Graham is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 03, 2018, 10:07   #2
rbgonoles
Registered
Contributor

FALaholic #: 74764
I have the Vortex Precision rings high and a Vortex PST 6-24 on my RPR in 6mm. Set up worked out nice. Didn’t lap the rings. I’m new to precision shooting/long range, but the rifle is extremely accurate.

First shots at 100 yards after dialing the scope in.

rbgonoles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old February 03, 2018, 17:03   #3
tac-40
Armed Curmudgeon

FALaholic #: 12090
My RPR in 6.5 Creedmore mounts Vortex PST 6x24 FFP with MOA Dots instead of Mil-Dot. I just grasp MOA easier when converting ranges than Mil-Dot. I also have a Leupold MK4 LRT 4.5x14 on my FN bolt rifle. Both are fine.

Anything over 15X is distracting to me. To much of picking up my natural movements, pulse, breathing, muscle flex, and showing up in the scope. Less than 15X makes it non-noticeable.

I also have a Nikon on one of my hunting rifles. I have noticed that in lower light scenarios, it is little darker than the Vortex and Leupold scopes I have. Good clear glass, just not as sensitive in low light.

Several friends have been getting good results from the Bushnell XRS models. Just try to look through them first before buying.

Schools uses to start with the "three R's". Reading, writing, and arithmetic. Now they start with the "three D's". Dipshitery, Dumbassery, and Douchebaggery-Retired Bum

If you do in fact have a problem, you have the rest of your life to solve it. How long your life lasts only depends on how well you solve it.