The FAL Files

The FAL Files (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/index.php)
-   Gunsmithing & Build It Yourself (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   CAI L1A1 or not? (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=60217)

edblevi December 25, 2002 12:17

CAI L1A1 or not?

Okay so what I can figure is that this rifle (bumhole stock version) was built on a metric reciever with inch parts? I'm not an expert but that is what I can tell so far. So one question would be can the lower be replaced with a metric lower (reciever, stock, grip, etc..)? Or I guess I could add the inch parts that are neccesary?

W.E.G. December 25, 2002 12:35

I terms of functionality, you can slap a metric lower on an inch upper (or vice-versa), without making any other changes.

In terms of legality, you gotta have the correct "parts count." That would be 7 US parts if your rifle has a "muzzle attachment."

HD99FXR3 December 25, 2002 12:38

yup, if you add the pistol grip you have to put in US parts to be legal

bykerhd December 25, 2002 16:07

Unless you plan to buy a COMPLETE lower receiver assembly, you need to correctly identify what you now have. Century has fitted Metric and Inch lowers with those "stocks". Take a look at GunThings website. They have some pretty good pictures of parts. With a bit of comparison you should be able to ID what you have.
They also do list some complete assemblies if you decide to go that route. TAPCO and Dan's also have complete Imbel( Brazilian Metric) lower assemblies. DSA has G-1 and stg Metric(more expensive but usually good).
If you buy a complete lower that is different than what you now have, that is Metric vs. Inch or vice versa, you will then need to buy some U.S. made internal parts( probably hammer/trigger/sear ) as what you have now won't fit.

If you need advice on how to spend $1,000 to have your Century be worth $500 then drop me a line and I can explain the route I have taken. Actually, am still on.