The FAL Files

The FAL Files (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/index.php)
-   Ammunition (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=22)
-   -   Reloading Press Question..... (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?t=422375)

K. Funk December 26, 2017 11:30

Reloading Press Question.....

I am looking to upgrade my reloading equipment. I have been using a Rock Chucker for many years. I buddy of mine has been doing my high volume 9mm , .45 ACP and .38 special on a Square Deal B. If money was no object, well mebbe a small object, what would be the ultimate practical set-up? I am thinking that 2 Dillon 550's, one for large primer and one for small primer, would be the cats meow. The 650 seems a bit much in terms of complication. My high volume rounds would be 9mm, .38/.357 .40 S&W/10mm, .45 ACP, .223. .308 and .30-06. Medium volume would be .44 Mag, .44 Sp. .45 Colt. Low volume would be lots of oddball military rounds and various hunting rounds. They would stay on the Rock Chucker. Any opinions appreciated.

krf

meltblown December 26, 2017 11:41

A 550 with the quick change plates already set up would be a good choice. For large rifle brass like 308, I size on the chucker because the force needed sometimes to full length size. You know how sometimes the ball wants to hang on the sizer die? It can wad the system up and if your not careful you will stroke it again and dump powder all over the place on a double charge. Then it's a mess to clean up because it will gum up the the shell holder plate and block the rotation For a pistol case the 550 is great.

As far as moving between large and small primers, the change isn't that much problem. Maybe 10 minutes to change out the tube magazine and the anvil.

Timber Wolf December 26, 2017 14:32