PDA

View Full Version : Legal: Entreprise StG-58C preban?

dodyern
December 28, 2002, 03:39
Did Entreprise make any pre-ban StG58's? My current StG 58 rifle has a flash hider like my FN and accepts FN bayonet. I work as a probation officer and I would not want to own an illegal rifle (kinda career limiting maneuver). I bought the rifle from a local gun shop that said it was a pre-ban, but I have a friend that told me he does not think so.

EMDII
December 28, 2002, 09:05
IIRC, IF your rifle has the Irwindale CA markings, then you have a post-ban StG-58C. Entreprise made pre-bans in their previous facility. Entreprise started making receivers in 1992. The only SURE way to know if you pre-date the AW ban is by sending Lawrence the SN and asking. But the rule-of-thumb about the pre-Irwindale receivers is a good guide.

AFAIK, my latest reference for pre-ban is SN 0012xx. These were made between 11/93 & 02/94. So this SN approaches the 04 Ban efffective date. In addition, IIRC ALL pre-ban SNs have an "EAI" prefix directly before the SN. They are ALL supposedly L1A1 Inch receivers.

So, your rifle is probably a post-ban, but again go to the website HERE (http://www.entreprise.com/cgi-bin/ubbcgi/ultimatebb.cgi) and join and ask Lawrence. He is VERY helpful. Give him as much info as possible about your rifle. You may have some trasnitional model.

As a PO, you also may have certain rights that we mere citizens somehow have lost. Not your frault, so take advantage IF they apply. While serving, IIRC LEOs can have post-94 AWs, so long as you comply w/ the ATF reg. IF you go to the ATF site you'll be able to look through the GCA 68 and the USC.

PS- ENTREPRISE is spelled a little different!
:wink:

I alos want you to bookmark this "Eureka!" thread link (http://www.falfiles.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=60277) for all the FAQs questions.

Welcome! You have been assimilated!

Texas-AR-Fan
December 30, 2002, 18:27