PDA

View Full Version : Ident: Type A lower receiver?

Flapjack
January 23, 2003, 20:05
Hello all.........

I'm new with the fal's , but I've put quite a few AR's together.
I just purchased my first kit from tapco. It's a G1 kit, and I have a question. I am considering using DSA's newer x-series buttstock, but the lower that came with my kit looks slightly different than all the pictures I see.

The pictures I see show the aft face of the receiver flat (where the buttstock meets ). My receiver has a stepped-down area right before it meets the stock (the step runs parallel with the frame lock lever / from top to bottom).

So after all that, my question is: is this normal / what type of receiver is this? Will standard DSA furniture fit this lower ?

Thanks for all your help !!!!!:(

Archer47
January 24, 2003, 03:50
Sounds like you may have a L1A1 lower.

Flapjack
January 24, 2003, 18:09
Archer.................

As far as I can tell it is a metric lower, ( metric type selector, grip, ect... ). I've been looking all over for a pic for identification, but I still havent found one yet. I would post a pic , but not sure how to.:o

looking for some help fellas, thanks!

Dirtfarmer
January 24, 2003, 23:33
Ooh! Ooh! Ooh!

.... You have a Type A lower. I will give you cash plus a great G1 lower in trade if you are willing to part with it.

...Seriously.

Type A were used on the earliest FALs' and are "metric" in spec.

Please E-mail me, ...I would give it a loving, appreciative home... :)

Goodwill,
-Dirtfarmer(Matt)

Brian in MN
January 25, 2003, 01:14
Have you found a butt for that there lower yet, DF?

NZ L1A1 Collector
January 25, 2003, 03:29
Here's a pic of the early TMH (Lower) that was made for the TYPE 'A' butts.