PDA

View Full Version : Please be gentle!!!!!!!!!!!!

Klutch
January 13, 2001, 00:17
I am new to FAL's period. I see the group buy for the Chilean kits. If I bought one of these would I just need to get a metric receiver and assemble it? I see alot of the STG58 kits for sale too. Are these also metric pattern? I get the impression that metric is the way to go because of mag availability. Any advice would be helpful. Thanks in advance.

Arby
January 13, 2001, 00:28
You would need the metric receiver and 6 to 7 U.S. parts to be legal, depending if you wanted a muzzle brake. The most common U.S. parts are:
Trigger
Hammer
Sear
Pistol grip
Gas Piston
Slide (operating handle)
Muzzle Brake is optional, but if you don't have one, you have to eliminate the threads at the end of the barrel.
Other acceptable U.S. replacement parts are:
Buttstock
For end
Receiver
Barrel
Lower receiver(If I recall
correctly)

Metric parts and magazines are easier to come by and cheaper than inch (Commonwealth) parts.

Klutch
January 13, 2001, 00:33
Do you think it would be wiser to buy a complete rifle and start from there? www.gunsnammo.com (http://www.gunsnammo.com) has STG58 carbines built on Imbel receivers for $519 they look pretty nice but do you think they are built from shot out kits? Do they already include the necessary US parts in them? What is the legality on using surplus mags in them? Thanks again.

tulsamal
January 13, 2001, 00:44
Klutch,