PDA

View Full Version : Technical: FNC bayos different from FAL bayos?

Brian in MN
September 13, 2002, 08:26
I was just over to Vollmer's and they have an FNC bayonet for sale at $80. Are these things really different from a standard FAL combo device tube bayonet?

Steelcore_7.62
September 13, 2002, 09:05
I'm no expert by any means, but the ones I've seen in european catalogs and in the Belgian Army FNC manual look alot like the US M-7 bayo for the M-16A1 not the tubular FAL type. Maybe they utilized the tubular ones early in production?

donker
September 13, 2002, 14:12
The bayonet that came with my FNC fits my FAL with the combo device.

DK
September 13, 2002, 19:01
Tubular bayonets that fit on combo devices also fit on combo devices :)

There were adapters sold that mounted to the FNC barrels and allowed the use of a M16 bayo....

DK

edit: When I typed "short combo devices" I wasn't referring to the 'short' flashider on a 16" FNC, only the 'regular' combo device found on the 18" FNC and most metric pattern FAL's.

Brian in MN
September 14, 2002, 00:11
Originally posted by DK
Tubular bayonets that fit on short combo devices also fit on short combo devices :)

DK

Well, that's kinda what I thought. Just wondering if I was missing something. My FNC is the short para with the short flash hider so I'm not really sure if a tube bayonet even fits the thing. Never bothered to try it. My bayonets are buried in a closet.

DK
September 14, 2002, 07:22
you must have a 16" para. I don't think the bayo's fit on the 'short' flashiders... only the 'regular' combo devices....
Had an 18" para it worked fine on, never checked the 16" para I had, but I've heard it won't work.

DK

archy
September 14, 2002, 11:07
Originally posted by Brian in MN
I was just over to Vollmer's and they have an FNC bayonet for sale at $80. Are these things really different from a standard FAL combo device tube bayonet?