PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Camsoline Question

Fallen
June 27, 2002, 02:16
I know this is probly a stupid question. But I am new to this and I have just recieved my first G1 kit. It is caked in camsoline. How do you get that stuff off? Any help would be great. Thanks in advance.
Fallen

Seth Livzz
June 27, 2002, 06:29
Engine degreaser, Simple Green, Castrol Purple Stuff, dishwashing machine, couple bucks at the car wash, Methyl Ethyl Ketone...

Blood of Tyrants
June 27, 2002, 08:35
...automotive brake cleaner, kerosene, mineral spirits, lacquer thinner, elbow grease....

BoarValley
June 27, 2002, 08:41
Boiling water is best, and easiest.

Offctr
June 27, 2002, 08:46
If you are going to do more than one (ha--haha--hahaha --bwuhahahahahahahhah! --whoops sorry!) invest in a 5 gallon plastic pail and a few gallons of laquer thinner and some of the heavy rubber gloves for harsh chemicals (work outside --dont smoke) this makes cosmo removal a snap. These days you can leave it outside in the sun on a picnic table with some newspaper under it and lots will leech out -especially if you have wood stocks- the best part about this is it can be done while you go to work, soak in the tub, have a beer whatever let time and nature do the work for you it helps get the cosmo out of little crevices that are otherwise unacessable. I have an M-48a that despite repeated cleanings and a heat gun session still oozes cosmo -the SKS too- and some parts you just dont want to subject to chemicals or too much heat.
brake parts cleaner works great as a final clean but is not good for wood and the like -really dries it out. Good for metal not for wood and will surface melt some plastics.

TinMan99
June 27, 2002, 08:51
Hot air gun on metal parts works well too. Don't use on wood or polymer but small and large parts are easily cleaned by using a hot air gun set to low to melt it off. Once liquified by heat, cosmoline runs like motor oil.

TinMan99

Tony.
June 27, 2002, 10:01