PDA

View Full Version : W OT Night vision Goggles

madecov
June 24, 2002, 12:29
I am a police officer by day/night
I have a need to get some goggles, sometimes I drive very dark unlit roads and would love to turn off the headlights ;)

othertimes I need to do building entry and the buildinsa are pitch balck and a flashlight is a dead giveaway.

I alo have to foot patrol certain very dark areas and again a flashlight would be a dead giveaway.

I am considering a set of the Russian goggles ( gen 1 ) as that's about all I can afford, I have also considered a set from ATN.

My questions are

1) are the gen 1 units really as bad as everyone seems to say
2) can the IR illuminators be used through a windshield ?

My basic distances in a building would be no more tha 50 feet.
outdoors I would doubt I need more than about 50 yds.

Will the IR illuminators work if there is little or no moon light ? the areas I patrol get really really dark when the moon isn't full ( very rural )

I tried to post the question on the night vision discussion board but for some reason my browser won't allow posts there.

All help appreciated.

Adventurer_96
June 25, 2002, 00:13
In my opinion, Gen 1 really stinks, but that's because I'm used to using Gen 3+ stuff. It depends on the use, Gen 1 would give a basic outline of the area, but for the price of US Gen 1 stuff you may be able to find former Soviet Gen 2 or Gen 3.

Don't waste your hardearned $$ on a cheap set, hold out if you really want something worthwhile.

old goofy dude
June 25, 2002, 03:27
I've a set of PVN-5B goggles that I've played with for the last ten years or so. They are Desert Storm era US Gen 2 surplus. They do not magnify so the view is the same as your eye sight.

Be aware that you loose your periphrial vision while wearing gogles.

I concur that you should save your money. Anything less than US Gen 2 will be a disappointment in my opinion. Especially if you plan on using them on the job.