PDA

View Full Version : Soon to be new FAL Owner from Maine!

bgreywolf
December 24, 2017, 04:23
Hello everyone!

My name is Ben, and I'm new to the FAL world. I've got some older bolt-action rifles from WWI and I like old guns with interesting stories.

I had an AR15 until recently; it didn't excite me the way my friend's FAL did, and so I sold it and I'm looking at a Coonan LAR-3 build in Scarborough, Maine (presently at Cabela's with a deposit on it while I decide if it's the one for me--I travel for work and I won't be home for a few weeks, so I have time to decide).

While I'm at work, I'm buying a copy of The FAL Rifle and having it shipped to the house, along with the Skennerton FAL pamphlet (I've got a lot of his SMLE books).

Anyway, if I wrote down everything I knew about the FAL it wouldn't be as long as this introduction has been (well, I do know some of the basic differences between inch and metric--the Coonan appears to be built with all metric parts--the receiver types, the endless cast vs forged debate, and so forth).

I look forward to learning more about the FAL in general, and I welcome discussion of this rifle in particular as well as reasons I might want to complete the sale when I get home; or why I might prefer to wait.

Knowing the community, it's possible that one of you has owned this one before; if you are (or know) the previous owner, I'd love to hear about it!

Here's a link; I've also put some pictures in my profile:
http://www.gunsinternational.com/guns-for-sale-online/rifles/military-arms/coonan-arms-ci-lar-3-308-win.cfm?gun_id=100960385

01BIRDDOG
December 24, 2017, 08:13
Welcome aboard and just plan for a life of constant searching, worrying and buying.......sometimes doing without food and medicine to support the FAL habit.

4markk
December 24, 2017, 08:24
Looks like a Coonan on an Imbel kit.

Description mentions that it is a 20" barrel. Either it was cut down and rethreaded or the person doesn't know how to measure it.