PDA

View Full Version : original fal receiver blueprints

praff
November 02, 2017, 09:19
Ok so just to set the record straight before anyone asks, yes I am a manufacturer and have a current 07/02 license. Rafferty Custom Guns, LLC for anyone that wants to look. I have been gunsmithing for a few years under an 01 and just received a new 07/02 and am going to make a few post dealer samples. One of those is gonna be an FAL.

I have all parts and have a good understanding of what needs to be done, but, i can't wrap my head around how the safety sear operates properly in a full auto cut receiver. It appears as if the ears on the lower would want to "pinch" the safety sear and not allow it to function properly. This is due to the clearance cut on the receiver and how the two halves mate up when connected. It just seems as if the sear would rub on the ear of the lower, but maybe I'm missing something or not seeing a shoulder or bushing somewhere.

So looking for a little better understanding here and a proper drawing would be a great help. I can't seem to find a good drawing anywhere that details the width dimensions of the lug on the upper receiver for milling.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Pat

also...edited to add pic and maybe ask for info on this particular flash hider/thread pitch. Would like to change the muzzle device and curious if anyone knows whether this is rh or lh threads and maybe if these were permanently attached or not. Looks like it is a early tapco muzzle break and the rifle is on an embel gear logo receiver. I don't know history on this other than it had the black plastic furniture and I added the izzy light barrel stuff a couple years ago.

http://i65.tinypic.com/dcu2o9.jpg

4markk
November 02, 2017, 10:09
You got it .... the "safety sear" is held in place by the hinge pin. The relief cut on the receiver allows the long leg of the safety sear to go up through the ejector block so that it can engage the carrier.