PDA

View Full Version : imbel or FN mags

dakdak
October 19, 2017, 16:50
At the risk of sounding stupid, I have a question: Is the importation of new Imbel and/or FN mags prohibited ?

308/223shooter
October 19, 2017, 17:09
Likely yes

raubvogel
October 20, 2017, 04:05
I thought magazines were not in the scary list (yet)

Incognito
October 20, 2017, 08:16
I am no expert but I thought magazines were still OK for importation. I cannot think of any specific laws or rulings regarding magazines since the expiration of the AW ban than I believe banned the manufacture and import of "high capacity" magazines (that held more than 10 rounds). I still see ads for what appears to be new batches of Easter European AK magazines coming in. And I believe a lot of pistol magazines come from Europe. I'm sure you have to be a licensed importer and run through all the government red tape to import them though.

dakdak
October 20, 2017, 16:18
I thought that was probably the situation. Even though the fedgov does not now ban hi-cap magazines a company or a person would need to have a pretty good piece of change and a good law firm, well versed in the BS surrounding the import of the mags, to get them into the county.

I also wonder how much it would cost for the mags, shipping/duty, lawyers and so forth to import at least a thousand at a time.

Cost factors would also include the exchange rates in Brazil and Belgium.
Factory direct would probably be a b***h !

meltblown
October 20, 2017, 16:45
You getting a pallet? I'd look into ITAR and see. My take is that a dozen or so is one thing a dozen gross is another. Your big deal is going to be the harmonization number assigned. That code will give you a clue as to the duties and regulations. There are a shitload already here in the US. I imagine just the guys here have an average of 50 each.

They maybe allowed but shipping and big tariff may negate any benefit

jsparky1983
October 20, 2017, 16:57