PDA

View Full Version : Thank you WECSOG!!! True graduate tested and passed, Oven Mitts and 2x4's.

7.62FMJ
June 19, 2002, 00:18
I have been a student of WECSOG technique for years.
I have an FAL built by a supposed real gunsmith who had gone to school for gunsmithing yet this rifle though it looked great- would not even pass first year WECSOG standards.
The rifle has never ran right- and on top of that the sights were crooked!!!

I decided to take the entire thing apart. Now here is where only a true WECSOG graduate will prevail.

I own very few tools and not even a bench vise! Instead I opted for my trusty pipe wrench, a four inch C-Clamp, a lowly discarded 2x4, a ball ping hammer, and an Oven Mitt.
First was to remove the gas tube- I drove out the gas tube pin with a small nail as a punch and my ball ping hammer. Then using my pipe wrench and an Oven Mitt that I wrapped around the gas tube- I took the pipe wrench to the tube and removed the assembly.

Second was to remove the barrel from the reciever. I set my reciever rails against the 2x4 and then used my four inch C-Clamp to tighten it against the 2x4. One end of the clamp on the 2x4 and the other against the rear part of the underside of the reciever. I then drove two large nails through the 2x4 to secure it to my work area.