PDA

View Full Version : Remington 1903a3 restoration

DJ
April 30, 2017, 11:03
I might have bitten off a big chunk here and I need some advice and guidance though this project.
I ran onto a Remington 1903a3 barrelled action. The barrel is marked RA, with the flaming bomb, and the date is 9-43.
I have the original (I hope) bolt. The bolt is in the reciever so I have to assume it's the original. It rides in the rails smoothly and locks up tight.
The bore looks good, no rust or pitting that I can see.
And thats all I have. The bolt and barreled reciever. I need everything else. The reciever is marked:
US
Remington
MODEL 03-A3
40335XX
The bolt is complete, also the rear sight is there and complete.
I need everything else, including the front sight blade and pin.
I've never tried a project like this before, and before I jump in with both feet, is this a restoration that a guy with some mechanical ability can pull off?
I'm going to post a WTB in Marketplace for parts that guys may have spare to thier needs.
Thanks.

K. Funk
April 30, 2017, 11:34
I have a stock and a handguard that may help you out. I may also have some small parts.

krf

DJ
April 30, 2017, 12:17
Karl, that's great! That will get me started. Can you PM me with what you have and what you need for the parts and I can get you a money order out.
Thank you, Sir!

1911Ron
April 30, 2017, 13:02
Is there an R on the bolt handle at the root? If there is it maybe the original bolt.

DJ
April 30, 2017, 13:32
On top of the bolt handle there is a "X" stamped. There is something stamped on the bottom side, but it is very indistinct. Doing some research, could this be a Smith Corona replacement bolt?

randy762ak
April 30, 2017, 17:14
YES the X on top is Smith corona ! Good news Bolts and other parts are easy to find !!

http://shop.ernstarmory.com/category.sc?categoryId=40

DJ
April 30, 2017, 18:44
Thanks Randy! I had forgotten about Ernst. I will be ordering some things from him.