PDA

View Full Version : 9mm upper lower question

Bertellione
November 14, 2016, 00:04
Does anyone know of a lower that uses the glock magazines that will work with the old colt 9mm upper?

I have looked at PSA but you have to use their upper and lower together. I already have a couple older colt 9mm uppers that I got for a realy good deal I think. If I have to I'll just use a standard lower and get the colt parts, but I like the idea of being able to use glock mags because they are so much cheaper compared to the colt style mags.

Does anyone have any experience with the New Frontier 9mm lowers. They say that they are compatible with standard parts but I'm not sure about their reputation and some of the features they have. I'm new to the AR9mm game and don't want to buy a bunch of parts that don't work together.

leper
November 14, 2016, 11:17
I have a new frontier 80% lower im going to use with a regular, no fwd asst, upper and see no reason why it wouldnt work. From what I' ve read, the PSA claim is for marketing only, and I believe the add now says its only suggested to use thier upper.
I built a 9mm colt mag billet lower, not new frontier tho, and it used just a regular lpk. I have to look again, but Im not sure if the New Frontier has a last round hold open.

gunshooter
November 14, 2016, 11:26
I have a metal New Frontier Lower for Glock Mags and it does not have a bolt hold open. I just used an off the shelf old M16A1 non assist upper but an expensive glock specific Bolt. It has to clear the feed lips of the mag and the ejector as far as I can tell. Oh yes, I finnally decided on using and Anderson Non - assist and no ejection door upper as well.

I also had to take 4 swipes of sharp mill bastard on the port side lip under the ejector. This bit of clearance is about .040.
This allows the mag to go up a bit more so the mag catch "catches". I only had to do this to the Korean drum Mags. The official glock mags fit perfectly. :sleep:

leper