PDA

View Full Version : M1 6th or 7th round stoppage

12v71
November 25, 2015, 15:06
As most of you know, I'm a Garand newb. Last time out with my new toy, it ate 5-6 clips with no issue then started to stop feeding at mostly the 6th round, sometimes the 7th. It would put the bullet tip on the left side of the breech and just stop, didn't mash the tip or anything like that. thumbed the bullet to the center of the chamber and smacked the op handle and off we go. Ammo is PPU 150gr Garand food and the clips are marked AEC and have a rough fresh park job. Do they need some break in time?

MilsurpMonkey
November 25, 2015, 16:01
Pretty sure the clip latch spring is the culprit (was on mine with very similar symptoms) but I've also had trouble with the AEC clips as well, only had 2 of them mixed with my surplus clips so it was easy to toss them out. But my clip issues were that they didn't want to fully seat like the rest. Don't think I had feeding issues with them.

MilsurpMonkey
November 25, 2015, 20:05
Surprised tdb59 hasn't chimed in, he'd probably be able to give ya an accurate way to diagnose the cause.

12v71
November 25, 2015, 20:46
Surprised tdb59 hasn't chimed in, he'd probably be able to give ya an accurate way to diagnose the cause.

Been waiting for that. The man knows his stuff. :)

tdb59
November 25, 2015, 20:47
Just got here.

Worn/ weak op-rod spring. Get a complete spring kit from Brownell's, and replace all.

PM your address, and I will send some original USGI clips- gratis.

T

Orlando8
November 26, 2015, 18:07
Has nothing to do with clip latch spring. Sounds like a timing issue which can be a number of things
It is recommended by CMP to completely dissasemble the rifle ,clean and properly grease it. Did you do this??
Also those new AEC enblocs can cause issues. I would either put them in a tumbler to remove some of the rough parkerizing or buy USGI enblocs