PDA

View Full Version : P229/.40....any thoughts?

Oz308
November 24, 2015, 17:47
Hi All-

Been looking at a 229 in .40, doing some reading and researching on 229's. Kind of hard to find an objective review.

Anything to watch out for, or are they really as good as all the articles claim?

I'm a noob in regards to SIG's.

Thank you for your time.

W.E.G.
November 24, 2015, 18:01
SIG makes excellent product.

You will not be disappointed.

Well, until you find a gun by a different manufacturer that serves the intended purpose equally well for considerably less money.

Not that it matters.

Guns are cheap.
Its everything else that has to do with guns that accounts for 85% of the cost of a gun hobby.

Guy-epic
November 24, 2015, 19:28
I own the Sig P229 e2 in 40. I can honestly say that my first pistol was a full size 1911 that I have enjoyed keeping on my hip right up until I tried the P229. It took me some getting use to as far as controls are just a bit different, learning to shoot with the heavy first shot, and then the wonderful SRT. Also it was odd not using my thumb to drop the safety, that has all passed with some helpful training from a great instructor. I can't think of a better pistol. I have tried many none have been as fun to shoot.

abbynormal
November 24, 2015, 19:53
Jump on it!!!! Pick up a factory .357 barrel and switch it and you'll have the perfect gun. Practice with the cheaper .40 and carry the flat shooting .357!!!!!

Right Side Up
November 24, 2015, 20:09
I had a 229. Liked it a lot. Ex-wife has it. She liked it too.

spider991
November 24, 2015, 21:40
Lotsa used p229 cop guns in 40cal floating around and coming out and bound to be a ton more. Great guns and with them hitting the market for reasonable prices used, it's a win for us.

douglas
November 24, 2015, 22:10
+1 to what ABBYNORMAL said.
I have a P-229 in 9mm. Great pistol. .357 Sig would take to a whole new level.

Oz308
November 24, 2015, 22:13
Hey Guys-