PDA

View Full Version : Garand safety question

NC Rifleman
October 27, 2015, 08:49
Ran across a nice looking H&R M1 at a pawn shop yesterday that was priced right. Only thing that held me back was that when I was checking it over, I noticed the safety is loose/has front to back play when its in the off position. It clicks firmly to the on position and is tight, and pushes off easily enough but then feels loose with about at least an 1/8" back and forth looseness. The M1 I picked up a few weeks back doesn't have this issue. I searched online last night to see what if anything might need a fix, but only found posts regarding the safety being difficult to initiate. I'm new to Garands so this may be a silly non-issue but if somebody can tell me anything about it that would be a great help. Thanks

garandguy10
October 27, 2015, 09:14
The safety issue should be an easy fix, probably assembled incorrectly or the safety spring may be bent/broken.

bubbagump
October 27, 2015, 09:36
The safety issue should be an easy fix, probably assembled incorrectly or the safety spring may be bent/broken.

Yep. ^^^ This.

b.

NC Rifleman
October 28, 2015, 22:34
Brought it home and yep, a piece of the spring in the trigger housing fell out when I disassembled it. Looks like an easy fix. One other thing I noticed is that the spring was black as well as the trigger, bolt, and hammer which also have an SA stamp on them. All other parts have a GI parkerized finish. I was wondering if maybe these were Springfield Inc. parts instead of USGI or maybe just got refinished with a black finish?

George4
October 28, 2015, 23:00