PDA

View Full Version : MP5 Serial number

mrclark303
July 10, 2015, 03:33
Morning all,

I bought a (de-ativated) MP5 yesterday, very interesting piece with British proof marks, the serial number is 3/68, can anyone tell me the year of manufacture?

Cheers, John

AGG
July 10, 2015, 09:27
I believe that the 3/68 is the manufacturing date!!! :)
The serial number should be on the right of the top receiver (e.g., EN MP5 Kal. 9mmx19 0XXXX 3/68), with no markings on the left/right receiver. ;)
I have data for the 4/72 Enfields, serial numbers 03484 and 03817. :)
Can you PM me the exact markings on the top receiver? ;)

mrclark303
July 10, 2015, 14:20
Hmmm, now I am confused, I am completely new to the world of the MP5, well I thought I was until I stripped it down to discover its nothing more than a baby G3!

I can confirm it has no serial number, the number used on its Birmingham Proof House certificate is 3/68, the number hasn't been removed just simply never there!

No German proofs either, just British proof marks with the date code of 1987, it was deactivated in 1989 (the proof of deactivation mark is the tiny stamp seen in the image) .... so who used this "gray" MP5 for 19 years then I wonder??

21HK
July 10, 2015, 23:13
Taking into consideration the year that it was deactivated does it have a working bolt group and can it be field stripped?...if so, there may be a date or other markings on the bolt head.

Being that it's an Enfield gun it was made in England, therefore the reason your only finding British proofs.

If you have a date code of 1987 and a deactivation date of 1989...where does 19 years of use come in?

Is it possible to get a side shot of the lower housing?, SEF or URJ marked?

Thanks!

Andy the Aussie
July 11, 2015, 00:34
Taking into consideration the year that it was deactivated does it have a working bolt group and can it be field stripped?...if so, there may be a date or other markings on the bolt head.