PDA

View Full Version : Anyone in North Idaho area wanting a rail on their PTR/HK

nearmisses
January 31, 2015, 17:37
I'm new to H&K's and PTR's but was wondering, does anyone close by in North Idaho Panhandle/Mt.& Wa. area have one of these weapons and want that rail H&K make on their rifle? I have an idea I could attach them with the same system I use on FAL's with our LTR but have some doubts and need to see one before I know it would work.

I need to know and measure how much of the heat from the barrel/chamber is transferred to that sheet metal receiver area? How hot does it get shooting 2 or three mags fast? Anyone have an idea? Too hot to touch or... something cooler?
This looks like it might be a good case for an adhesive if the heat factor is no more severe than on an FAL. Less mess, no re-bluing, re-finishing or painting, less cost.

If anyone is in the Panhandle area has a H&K 91 or PTR & would be interested in finding out if this is a viable solution let me know. My friend has a gunsmithing shop so this would have to be done at his shop as it is a receiver, not just a top cover. You can reach me through the website for discussion.

1/325/ABN
January 31, 2015, 23:04
60 rounds in two minutes not to hot' but after 5 mags in four minutes it's pretty hot.

I'll try to think of anybody in the area. HK's are my thing and I'm on the HKPRO site a lot. Build them and weld the 1913 steel pictinny rail to the top of the receiver.

As to attachment with glue? Should be feasible US Space Shuttle attaches ceramic tiles to a steel /titanium hull and they mostly stay on and nothing on the G3 platform is going to get that hot!

1/325/ABN
January 31, 2015, 23:13
P.S. If you could do this could you look at the possibility of using a aluminum 1913 pictinny rail? Think "full length' with correct height spacer's for transitioning from receiver to cocking tube also were the cocking tube reduces down after the charging handle lays to rest in forward position.