PDA

View Full Version : Law Suit to challenge MG Ban

Artful
November 11, 2014, 00:56
http://www.gofundme.com/fmxlnk

To contact me, please use my email address: stephen@sdslaw.us. My website is www.sdslaw.us.

My name is Stephen Stamboulieh. I am an attorney in Mississippi that has tirelessly worked to further our 2nd Amendment rights.

Now, my sights are set on 18 USC sec 922(o). This is known as the machinegun ban. I don't believe this is constitutional in light of the Second Amendment to the Constitution. Likewise, the National Firearms Act ("NFA"), which taxes the making and transferring of Title II weapons (machineguns, suppressors, short barrel rifles, short barrel shotguns, etc) is ripe to be attacked on Second Amendment grounds.

We have the avenue to attack both the machinegun ban and the NFA with the BATFE's recent approval of a number of Form 1s. I have a number of clients that I will be filing a lawsuit on behalf of to seek to overturn the ban and the NFA in different states.

Crossing my fingers

m60shooter
November 11, 2014, 06:10
i wouldn't get my hopes up to high, another attorney who is quite familure with nfa law says his suit has no merit, but worse of all this suit may stir the pot for the anti gun crowd in washington when the word gets out that ( CITIZENS CAN OWN MACHINEGUNS ! ) oh my god, we need to change that ! sometimes it's best to let sleeping dogs lye.
imagine how many mg's would be registered in the first few months if they lifted the hughes ammendment of 86. not hundreds, not thousands, tens of thousands plus.
so with that being said i'd expect it to backfire and instead of a repeal maby we;ll get a raise on tax stamps instead, that $200 if adjusted for inflation should probably be well over a $1000. wouldn't that be a kicker.
i'm a little nervous about this one.

partisan50
November 11, 2014, 06:28
...that $200 if adjusted for inflation should probably be well over a $1000.

Um yeah, it would be like $3530 in today's useless dollars.