PDA

View Full Version : need some technical guidance FA to semi

doneill
November 09, 2014, 11:24
FAL Gurus:

I need to know whether I can remove or substitute some parts to reversibly make a LaFrance FAL FA HB it function ONLY in semi-auto. This would not be an attempt to change the legal staus of the firearm. I do not want to convert this to a semi permanently. This is necessary for me to comply with range rules to shoot at a local range.

I don't know much about the FAL design and while I can do basic work on several firearms I am only beginning to understand the FAL. I could use some advice.

Is it reasonably simple to remove (and to reinstall) the safety sear and will that make it function in semi auto only?

Are there other parts I need to change, for example the ejector block?

Thanks in advance for any information on whether this is doable.

Dave O'Neill

PS. I searched for information on how to do this but did not find a thread on this topic. If I missed one, I apologize in advance.

easttex
November 09, 2014, 12:21
The easiest and most reversible way to solve this problem would be to round up a DSA semi-only selector switch. These use the little nub on the side of the lower to prevent the the selector from rotating all the way around to FA.

If DSA doesn't have one for you, post a WTB in the forum Marketplace. It won't cost you much and will not irreversibly alter your rifle. You simply change the selector back out when you want to rock 'n roll again.

the gman
November 09, 2014, 12:26
Go with what easttex suggested or find another range to shoot at.

I wouldn't remove the safety sear as, no matter what BATFE think, its there for a reason, predominately to prevent the rifle firing out of battery and therefore, a fairly important safety feature. The semi selector is a simple and easy fix which is completely reversible and will not harm the value of your firearm.

stimpsonjcat
November 10, 2014, 12:02
Yep, new semi safety is easiest.