PDA

View Full Version : Paperwork question

croftonaviation
August 02, 2013, 07:42
Hey guys. I have guy I know who is wanting to bring a registered mg 42 out to my range to do some shooting. What paperwork must accompany the firearm to be legal. I just want to cover my ass as it is my property. Thanks

Tom

meltblown
August 02, 2013, 09:12
From what I've read on the ATF site. Basically a copy of the tax stamp paperwork just in case somebody shows up to harass you. Sounds like a lot of fun

m60shooter
August 02, 2013, 13:32
From what I've read on the ATF site. Basically a copy of the tax stamp paperwork just in case somebody shows up to harass you. Sounds like a lot of fun 10/4 all you need is the form 4, assuming it's a form 4 gun. i've been shooting full auto's since 1985 & have never been checked. if my gun has a place for it i'll make a copy & keep it with the gun, in the butstock or pistolgrip works, if i'm shooting somewhere new i'll phone the local sheriffs office to let them know we'll be fireing legaly resistered automatic weapons in a safe manner, just in case someone calls.

Warbirds Custom Guns
August 02, 2013, 14:19
A copy of something like this.
Always keep the original in a safe place.

http://s23.postimg.org/fpi9inh4b/Stamped_atf_form4_Uzi.jpg (http://postimage.org/)

kev
August 02, 2013, 14:39
What paperwork must accompany the firearm to be legal.

The answer to the question is "none", but I understand your desire to cover your six. Good move on your part especially with an MG42. THAT thing will draw attention like no other.

You know, I suspect it's a good idea to take a pic of any helpful paperwork and keep it in your phone. I've scanned all my form4's, etc and keep them on a thumb drive, but I've also emailed them to myself. That way I can access them any time from any computer,.......even if I find myself down at the popo or standing in front of a judge somewhere.

Warbirds Custom Guns
August 02, 2013, 18:44