PDA

View Full Version : 556R Anyone used one?

Old Sarge
July 30, 2013, 17:11
Hi All
I happened by the fun store today and they had a Sig 556R on the rack. Sort of interested in it buy I don't know anything about them. Dealer said that it uses a standard AK mag. They are asking $1200 for it. I was looking for a 556 Classic when I saw this one. Worth it or wait for the classic to show up?

Thanks
Old Sarge

VonFireball
July 30, 2013, 22:14
My dream rifle that I'll likely never have. I'm no expert but here is what I know:

Shoots 7.62x39 and uses any AK mags except drums (magwell is too deep) and US Palm. From what I understand it functions more or less as an AK design wise (gas piston, rotating bolt) but has the more precise manufacturing of SIG, or at least that is one of the selling points.

I know Gabe Suarez is a big believer in the rifle, not that I believe him cause he's Gabe Suarez but the rifle does offer AK reliability with many reports of improved accuracy over standard AK type weapons. It also has two gas adjustments to choose from, normal and dirty, for tough conditions. The safety is placed in more of an AR way for ease of access. Sights are not included, which is BS. Barrel is melonite coated I believe which some claim is superior to chrome lining. I would much rather the 556R model than the standard 556 model, which uses AR mags but probably doesn't have quite the accuracy of a comparably priced direct impingement AR. Since I already have ammo and mags for AK it's a no brainer on my part, you might be in a different situation.

Sijones
July 31, 2013, 00:31