PDA

View Full Version : taurus 41 magnum 21/2 inch barrel ??

detroit360
May 23, 2013, 12:35
what do you all know about a taurus 41 mag. 21/2 inch barrel, Im thinking about getting one, any experience about this gun would be apprieciated

Retired Bum
May 23, 2013, 17:28
Let me talk about ammo supply first. Do you already own a .41 Magnum and have a sufficient supply of ammo on hand? If not then finding .41 ammo during this contrived ammo shortage could be a real problem. Even when ammo was available finding .41 Magnum was somewhat of a problem because today the cartridge is a niche round. It is something to consider when you contempulate the purchase of a new firearm.

I have no experience with the Taurus revolver model you are interested in. I've owned at least half a dozen .41 Magnum's over the years. But they have all been S&W's and Rugers. Given the problems with Taurus quality control and warranty service you might want to reconsider. I know shooters who have had nothing but good luck with their Taurus handguns. And others who wished that they had never bought them.

And so it goes.

The Retired One

Illurian00
May 23, 2013, 18:36
I think you can convert Herters .401 PowerMag brass in a pinch,,,,:devil:

Retired Bum
May 23, 2013, 20:32
The Herter .401 Power Mag....

I remember when this cartridge came out in 1961. The Power Mag single action revolver was made in Germany by J.P. Sauer & Sohn. Basically a knock off of the Ruger Blackhawk.

Now the round is deader than even the .41 Action Express. Some owners of the Power Mag .401 had gunsmiths rechamber the cylinder to the .38-40 Winchester so they could still shoot the thing.