PDA

View Full Version : Help with FAL HB Spare parts.

doneill
February 03, 2013, 13:35
Hello:

I am new to The FAL and started with an Israeli HB built by Tim LaFrance on one of his receivers. I am waiting for ATF approval of the Form 4. In the mean time I am trying to assemble a reasonable spare parts kit. I have a spare barrel, firing pins, wood and extractors and a few springs.

I'm told I should also have a spare bolt carrier and bolt, and that for a spare, either a one cam or two cam unit will work fine. Unfortunately I don't know how to tell the difference and how to buy a carrier and bolt that are compatible with each other and the receiver.

I would appreciate someone who knows telling me "you should look for a ------ bolt and bolt carrier" AND "You should also get the following spare parts: -----", finally: Are one piece and two piece firing pins interchangeable?

Thanks in advance.

Dave O'Neill

BigBoy1
February 03, 2013, 14:27
Dave,

How often do you hear about a bolt or bolt carrier "wearing out"? The small breakable items such as firing pins and springs, extractors are the ones you need. I've had my selective fire FAL for about 35 years and I have yet to break and replace the first part on my FAL. FALs are built very well and can take a lot of use. The selective fire bolt carrier are different than the semi-auto carriers. On the bottom of the bolt carrier at the rear are two ridges running towards the front of the bolt carrier. If these ridges are the same short length, that is a semi-auto bolt carrier. If one ridge is long and the other is short, then that bolt carrier is for a selective fire FAL. What most importers are doing is milling off the long ridge to make it a semi-auto bolt carrier. If you still want to look for a selective fire bolt carrier, make sure you get a picture of the bottom to makes sure it as not been modified.

Prototype Services
February 03, 2013, 16:18