PDA

View Full Version : K1 in 300 blackout


jeepinjoe
October 10, 2012, 21:07
I was wondering if anyone done a K1 in 300 blackout? Joe

aardq
October 18, 2012, 15:24
It doesn't look like anyone has done it, but I've had the same idea for a DR-200. It should be nothing more than a barrel change, but that could be the problem. Maybe one day someone will do it.

Dan

s0b3
October 18, 2012, 19:16
It doesn't look like anyone has done it, but I've had the same idea for a DR-200. It should be nothing more than a barrel change, but that could be the problem. Maybe one day someone will do it.

Dan

yeah i think the problem is the lack of replacement parts. plus it's a lot cheaper with more options to get it done on the ar15 platform.

br82722
October 18, 2012, 21:28
You would have to:

get a barrel turned to the woo profile,
drill the gas hole,
and find a woo barrel extension.


I looked into this and found a guy that had un-drilled 300 blackout barrels for an AR. I never followed through because I couldn't find a woo barrel extension.

preston1026
October 19, 2012, 10:02
I have thought of this for my K2. What is the barrel extension for? What about buying a DR-300 barrel?

br82722
October 21, 2012, 12:55
The barrel extension is the part that the feed ramps are on. It is the chamber end of the barrel that is pressed into the receiver. IIRC, it is ~3/4" longer than an AR extension.

Being the 7.62x39 is .311 and the blackout is .308, I do not believe that the DR-300 barrel would work. Even if the chamber could be reamed to the correct dimensions, the bore would be too big.

I have never handled a DR-300, it may have a different size extension, different barrel pin location, etc.