PDA

View Full Version : Glock 21 convert to 10mm?

STGThndr
May 14, 2012, 04:19
I'm new to the Glock. Has anyone any experience/knowledge about converting the .45 21 to 10 mm by changing the barrel and magazines? What about changing out the recoil spring and guide? The .45 is plenty for most situations, but the 10mm would be a better woods gun in black bear country (augmented by a rifle or 12 ga with slugs).
So what do you know about converting the 21 to 20 given the correct parts? Thanks, Dun

W.E.G.
May 14, 2012, 07:04
Six pages of discussion at http://glocktalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=938598

Skilter
May 14, 2012, 09:12
For what you will spend in time effort and parts... just buy a 10mm. I have been down this road. YMMV, but mine was not worth the time and effort.

Deltaten
May 14, 2012, 09:53
I dunno from Glocks; but.......

I'd sooner go the other way...20 to 21. The "woods" gun yer seeking would need some *real* 10mm ammo to provide the protection ya want. Not sure I'd trust an upward converted Glock ta deal with that kind pressure and recoil. With the available "FBI lite" loads out there... no worries; but something to discourage bear and such??

Balancing a high-intensity round like the full-house 10mm is more than changing springs...IMHO Mebbe Glock uses the same frame and details....mebbe they don't !?!?
Like Skilter sez... just buy a 10mm...or a short 12 ga. ;)

homelandprotector
May 14, 2012, 17:46
Good info >> http://www.the-armory.com/shopsite_sc/store/html/product1057.html

I recomend the compensated model.

Bigger_Is_Better
May 14, 2012, 22:13
I'm pretty sure the frames are the same size, but the 20's slide is larger than the 21. It has more weight to it, for a dampening affect I'm sure.

STGThndr
May 15, 2012, 04:58