PDA

View Full Version : Hmm...

gates
September 08, 2010, 22:26
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DCUe61hmqsA

Not saying I agree or disagree - just keeping an open mind knowing that we have too many eaters on the planet at the moment...

Nick H.
September 09, 2010, 08:54
As a farmer, I don't believe there is any conspiracy of the magnitude depicted in the video. My brother and I raise mostly wheat and lentils. The video talked about cattle and I am not very knowledgeable regarding the current situation in cattle.

It seems to me that most government entities involved in world hunger are interested in growing food and distributing it to the "poor" countries. This has been going on since WWII or earlier. It has been a dismal failure. Just look at Africa and Haiti. The population rapidly grows to match any amount of food we can give to them. The middle east would be the same except they have oil to buy the food, but their population is growing rapidly without bounds and they could not possibly feed their current population in the area they live in.

I can firmly say, we are way beyond the point where we could support the world's population without fertilizers (based on natural gas) and herbicides (based on oil). When these resources run short, food production will fall and we will not be able to feed the world's population. The population density in the US is low enough, we can currently feed ourselves and export about 80% of the wheat we produce. When Canada, Australia and the US stop exporting all that food, Africa, Haiti, and the middle east will experience famine beyond anything the world has ever seen before.

I believe it is a time bomb waiting to go off and I don't see any way of defusing the bomb with any means we would consider ethical. The video depicts a conspiracy of the elite to thin the herd to a more manageable level. It might be true, but I don't see the effects of it here on the farm yet.

offshore44
September 09, 2010, 13:41