PDA

View Full Version : Joining the long range brethren...

Falcon
December 06, 2009, 20:31
After watching splat and gman take their cow elk at 750 and 650 yards this year, it convinced me I needed to buy or build a decent long range rifle and start practicing at 600 yds and beyond. It became apparent that I've been hunting short range (bow and slug gun) for too many years and the 200 yd range that I frequent wasn't going to cut it any longer.

Found this Patriot Arms Inc. made Remington 700 in 300 WinMag ridiculously cheap. Took the Leupold Mk4 M3 off my 308 and mounted it along with the bipod.

Joined a range near me with a 600 yard range and am going to find out which load it likes best.

:D

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v38/Falcon007/PAI300001-2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v38/Falcon007/PAI300004-2.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v38/Falcon007/PAI300003-2.jpg

hagar
December 06, 2009, 21:30
Looks like a nice rig! I personally would put a Harris 25-C swivel bipod on it for hunting. It extends to 27 inches and allows you to shoot from it in the sitting position while sitting on a low stadium chair. Mine was absolute death on coyotes.

B Wood
December 06, 2009, 21:59
Welcome to the long range side of life. I currently shoot a Sako TRG-42 in .338 Lapua.

Good advice on the Harris swivel bipod.....ALSO....get the PodLock system for it. You will thank me later.

http://www.snipercountry.com/inreviews/podloc.asp

splattermatic
December 06, 2009, 23:19
(insert whistle) you da man !

looks like next year were gonna have to draw straws at who get's the first shot.

very nice dude !

i hope it shoots as well as it looks.....

you still gonna give me your old 300 right ....:biggrin:

chromestarhustler
December 07, 2009, 00:52