PDA

View Full Version : Question on in-state Form 4

FAL GRUNT
December 01, 2009, 22:34
I have a close friend that is getting a suppressor and he called to ask me a question about that transfer. As I am no expert on the subject I thought I would ask you guys.

He is getting a suppressor from one of his friends here in state and was looking for a class III dealer. He spoke with a local one and was told that he did not have to go through a dealer to do a transfer. Just that he had to file the paper work.

Is that correct? Can he file a form IV without transferring through a dealer?

Second, he thought of an interesting issue. Without going through a dealer when he receives his paper work does that make the other person illegally in possession of a suppressor?

thanks!

-myers

Artful
December 02, 2009, 08:50
Dealers are required for interstate transfers (from one state to another)
but intrastate transfers only require approved form 4 from ATFE. The dealer is correct your friend just needs to do the paperwork (fed and any local) and finger print cards and send them off with a check for 200.00 to ATFE.

As far as legal possession, the original owner is the owner of record until after the approval of a new form 4 is complete and he his notified by the new owner and the item can be given to him.

Oh, and tell him to have patience - since Nobama came in things seem to have piled up/slowed down even further. Just a couple of examples from another board.

Just had a form 4 come back that was sent in late April of 2009. Approval date is October 27. Got it Nov 2. Sandy Snook is the examiner

and

Checked cashed 4/28, Called 10/29 and was told paperwork rec'd/logged on 6/11 (6 weeks after the check was cashed!) and currently pending, so I called my dealer who had the stamp on his desk Nov 3rd.

pmf
December 02, 2009, 09:21