PDA

View Full Version : L1A1 BBL Throat Erosion = 8 !!! Waste of Time??

tac556-1
January 17, 2009, 05:28
Picked up an L1a1 Australian/mixed kit to put on my DSA L1A1 receiver. Seller advertised the barrel as gauging at "1" and being "like new" for throat erosion.

Got the kit, it gauges at about 7.5-8 using the usual ARA-MOR M14 throat erosion gauge. This guage usually reads 0-1 for Imbel and STG barrels that I've checked. The L1A1 barrel looks to have decent rifling (well worn but serviceable) and the muzzle looks OK (Bullet check leaves 1/4" of bullet showing). The breech end has got a worse than usual indention from the top of the bolt.

In addition, the gas block on the barrel is all buggered up and will have to be replaced. Seller did include a good gas block, but now I've got to swap those out (which I've never done before). Seller never mentioned that the gas block was messed up.

My question is, should I bother with trying this barrel? If I keep it I'll certainly want a partial refund, as I paid for a "like new" barrel and I got a well used one. Or is this just too far gone to mess with? I want to build a nice inch rifle, don't mind spending the money, but finding an original L1A1 barrel hasn't been easy, and I'd prefer to use an original barrel for an authentic build.

Seller says he never actually gauged it, but it was sold to him as gauging at "1"....irritating. I paid over $400 for this kit, mainly for decent wood and an intact barrel. Got a good Australian spares set for $140 with cut barrel from someone else...so I figure I paid $260 for the barrel- which I was glad to do, if only it was as advertised...

Whole thing makes me wish I hadn't sold off the "weird FAL" kits that I had some years ago before I got into FALs...I sold off what I later learned were L1A1 kits (nice condition british kits). Think I sold them at $125....damn.