PDA

View Full Version : Want to install a DSA Rail Interface Handguard on my FAL


whiskey1
January 04, 2009, 08:19
I've wanted to put one of these on my DSA 18" rifle (standard barrel) for two years now and am finally going to do it.

Has anyone done this?

It appears that I will need to remove the front sling swivel, muzzle brake and the gas regulator.

Is there a set of tools I should buy?

Which way is the brake threaded / which way to loosen?

It looks like if I remove the pin from the gas regulator it should slide forwad and off.
Is this correct?

Anything I need to know so that I don't mess anything up?

Thanks,

W1

falpara
January 04, 2009, 08:24
Hello W1

The only thing you need to remove is the handguardring.

Raimond

whiskey1
January 04, 2009, 10:15
Hey Raimond-

Is this a one or two piece hand gaurd?

Let's say in the future I wanted to go back to the standard hand guards.
What would need to be done to replace the hand guard ring?

Thanks for the help.

falpara
January 04, 2009, 14:55
Hello,

You need to cut of the ring and put a DSA Rail Interface Handguard on it, it's
a 2 piece handguard.

To put on your original handguards you need a 2 piece ring sold by DSA

http://www.dsarms.com/Metric-2-piece-Handguard-Retaining-Ring_Cap/productinfo/025/

Good luck

Raimond

whiskey1
January 04, 2009, 18:23
I'm buyin' it!

Thanks Raimond.

EricCartmanR1
January 04, 2009, 18:38
Had my DSA Railed handguards for about 2 years now. It is really a thing of beauty and well sculpted. Despite being secured by only 1 screw, it locks up nice and tight and everything stays put.

Everything FALpara said is correct, you only need to cut off the handguard ring. Then if you want to put the old handguards back on, you have to buy the 2 piece ring from DSA. But once you have them on you will see there is no point in ever putting the old Handguards back on.

Here is my Ninja DSA gun (DSA railed hand guards, DSA scope mount, para stock).

http://images45.fotki.com/v1425/photos/9/932051/7027234/FALsbrothers-vi.jpg

Slo cat
January 04, 2009, 23:42
I just took off my DSA rail interface handguard to have a Vanden Berg free floating handguard installed.

My DSA RIH has two pieces, a bottom and a top. The bottom is secured to the rifle with the standard handguard bolt through the barrel gas block. The DSA top is secured to the bottom handguard with six hex bolts, two in front, two in the middle and two in the rear. It locks up very solidly when installed. I had a Leupold intermidiate eye relief scope mounted on it and it was solid.

Best Regards,
Slo cat

SIG552
January 05, 2009, 11:02
Eric,

I am going blind or does your RIH seem to have an opening cut into its LH side?

SIG552

johnny.308
January 05, 2009, 12:39
Originally posted by SIG552
Eric,

I am going blind or does your RIH seem to have an opening cut into its LH side?

SIG552

There are actually three opening at that point, on both sides, stacked vertically.

EricCartmanR1
January 05, 2009, 14:15
yeah what johnny said.

SIG552
January 05, 2009, 16:59
I see it now, thanks. I have the shorty system that doesn't have those holes. Wonder what they're for.....

EricCartmanR1
January 05, 2009, 17:18
probably lightening cuts, or vents?

whiskey1
January 07, 2009, 20:26
The DSA railed handguard came in the mail today and was on the rifle 15 minutes later.
Thanks for the help fellas.

My Knights rail covers won't snap into place on it though.
Anyone know why?

I'm going to take it out this weekend and try out the Harris bi -pods.
I've been waiting two years for this set up.

AEnemaBay
January 10, 2009, 11:13
Originally posted by whiskey1
My Knights rail covers won't snap into place on it though.
Anyone know why?

In order for the Knight's Armament rail covers to "snap" in place the picatinny rail needs to have a relief cut made on the ends of the rail for the spring steel clip on the covers. Many picatinny rails that I've been running across do not have this cut done. I guess to save money by skipping another machining step.