PDA

View Full Version : WTF are these things that keep popping up??


DYNOMIKE
December 07, 2008, 09:09
This is BS, how are these little links getting on here?? The are all over the place, UNDERLINED words that Have POP-UP's and Links attatched..
Hmm seems the link dies when I copy and paste it??
These seem to be random words TAGGED with links??

He is ONE example found on a thread a minute ago:
The word was " bankruptcy "

Weird? The link is live now that I posted it, seems to be some sort of advertisement from"GAMEVANCE" whatever that is??

I hope it's not just my puter that doing this shit?? :(

skeeterbay
December 07, 2008, 10:20
Mike, By chance did you switch your brand of beverage or something? No one else see's what your seeing. I guess it could be your special :tongue:


Seriously I don't have that stuff poping up on my screen. :confused:


Skeeter!

W.E.G.
December 07, 2008, 11:21
Evidently, you have allowed some program to set up shop on your computer, where the program looks for words on the current page, and enables a hyperlink to whatever spam-reflector group has subscribed to that program's database.

Open your Windows Task Manager.
I guarantee you have something running there that wasn't there before.

Blue Monster
December 07, 2008, 11:54
Mike your CPU has the Clap, purge, scan, send no e-mails and check your registry ASAP!

ASAP until then your on quarantine!
And, from now on wear a "Norton" when your on those gun porn sights.
CYA :wink:

(I'm pretty good with 'puters call me if you want.)

DYNOMIKE
December 07, 2008, 12:05
Well hells bells..
This is a BRAND NEW Puter and I'm gonna be pissed if something is on here..
O.K. Scanning NOW and will see what I find??

DYNOMIKE
December 08, 2008, 07:49
I found it, & REMOVED it...
I let my Son download a Trial WORLD OF WARCRAFT, it may have been in there, or a Gamesight he went to?? It has been removed and He won't be downloading shit on my Puter anymore..:wink:

English Mike
December 08, 2008, 09:44
What Firewall & AV programmes are you using?

Blue Monster
December 08, 2008, 09:51
Mike I doubt WoW would have added anything nasty to your 'puter, Blizzard has very clean stuff. It was the Czech porn he was downloading before the WoW D/L...:tongue:

BTW does he play WoW already?

My son has a 'puter, I am the admin and he doesn't know it, plus if it's on I can go into it via local network setup and check on his wanderings :biggrin:

DYNOMIKE
December 08, 2008, 19:54
Originally posted by ENGLISH MIKE
What Firewall & AV programmes are you using?

Mike~
I'm just running AVG but I think I need MORE??
Not sure what to get atthis point??


Originally posted by Blue Monster
Mike I doubt WoW would have added anything nasty to your 'puter, Blizzard has very clean stuff. It was the Czech porn he was downloading before the WoW D/L...:tongue:

BTW does he play WoW already?

My son has a 'puter, I am the admin and he doesn't know it, plus if it's on I can go into it via local network setup and check on his wanderings :biggrin:

WOW may Not I have no clue?? My Son wants to play and I'm kinda O.K. with it I guess? My Neice was here on Turkey Day along with her POS Boyfriend.. She works TWO Jobs, he works NONE and as long as I have know of him that's been the case.. Anyway what he Does do damn near 24/7 is play WOW..
He talked to one of his Tech/Geek bus while here and was able to get my Son a TEMP/TRIAL Membership.. May have been in there, mebe Not??
The Boyz have a Puter and I have it set up with a wireless router so I can see where they have been and what they are doing as well.
I have found some Good CZECH Porn sites with theur help though..:tongue:

English Mike
December 08, 2008, 21:22
Originally posted by DYNOMIKE


Mike~
I'm just running AVG but I think I need MORE??
Not sure what to get atthis point??

I've stuck with AVG for five years & it's never let anything through -yet.

This is despite visiting some VERY "hostile country" out here in the virtual world.

Download Zone Alarm as a firewall - the free version works just fine.

BTW If you're not using Firefox as your browser, then change to it ASAP, as there are lots of add-ons that help keep the nasties at bay.

DYNOMIKE
December 08, 2008, 22:36
THANKS Mike..
I will do BOTH... :beer:

AndyC
December 08, 2008, 22:52
Download HijackThis (http://www.download.com/Trend-Micro-HijackThis/3000-8022_4-10227353.html), run it and PM me the log

Blue Monster
December 09, 2008, 08:00
+1 on Firefox, my level 80 Rogue loves it:rofl:

DYNOMIKE
December 09, 2008, 19:47
Originally posted by AndyC
Download HijackThis (http://www.download.com/Trend-Micro-HijackThis/3000-8022_4-10227353.html), run it and PM me the log

Just did it, THANX!!

StarPD
December 23, 2008, 14:19
I'm on a cable ISP, using a Fujitsu laptop with Vista SP1 and connect through a Linksys WT54G wireless router.
Just did a speed test, and have 15,000 mps download and 5,000 mps upload speeds.

I have the following malware protection apps installed:
Windows Defender
avast anti-virus
Super Anti-Spyware
Ad-Aware
WinPatrol

Will uninstalling any of these malware apps speed up my computer, and if so, which ones do I not need?