PDA

View Full Version : Loading options

ackks
November 14, 2008, 01:45
I'm new to bolt actions and noticed they all have different ways to load them...external mag, hinged floorplate, top loading. Is the top loading the easiest to reload quickly? Not that I think I'll ever be in a situation where I would have to, but I just want the option.

If I could buy a few external mags the answer would be obvious, but I can't see taking the mag out, loading it, and putting it back in being the best option. The hinged floorplate just looks annoying to open let alone load.

I would love to hear people's thoughs who've actually used them.

shlomo
November 14, 2008, 07:26
Most hinged floorplates are intended to allow unloading of the magazine without cycling the rounds thru the action.

If the rifle is cut for stripper clips, that is as fast a way to recharge a bolt gun as any, unless a scope is mounted. With a scope, you are pretty much left with single loading the magazine from the top, or the option of organizing a rifle with a detachable magazine.

Unless, of course your have a Scout configuration that is also cut for strippers. Best of both worlds. :biggrin:

MAINER
November 14, 2008, 09:48
I have several Bolt guns in the old style or top loading, detachable floorplate (98 Mauser) and hinged FP (Win M70, Rem 700).

Recently acquired a Bolt gun with a detachable box mag. Still getting used to the thing. With extra mags I'd say it was a good system if you're involved with some kind of "tactical" shooting event. For a general purpose hunting or target shooting I prefer the old methods.

The DBM is hard to single load (bench shooting) and can't be "topped off". Reloaded rounds can't exceed 2.800" in .308. The DBM would be good for hunting with a vehicle where you need to load and unload often. Game laws here don't allow loaded firearms in a vehicle.

If you get a FN PBR with the hinged floorplate and decide you want a DBM instead, I'll trade. :D

skeeterbay