PDA

View Full Version : SBR Question

FC-BEAVERS
March 30, 2008, 12:04
I recently decided to invest in a V-53 SBR and this will be my first NFA firearm. Im a complete noob so I have a few questions.

1. I know that forms need to be filled out and the $200 stamp tax will need to be paid. What form will I need to fill out?

2. Will I have to buy it through a Class 3 dealer or Will I be able to get it through my regular FFL?

3. Finally I stumbled across a webiste a while back that had online versions of ATF forms but for the life of me I cant remember the address of the website. Can someone point me in the right direction please.

gunplumber
March 30, 2008, 15:21
If you wish to purchase one that is ALREADY an SBR, and the posessor is not in your state, and is an NFA dealer, then

You pay for the gun, dealer transfers to NFA dealer in your state (form 3 tax exempt), dealer sells to you on form 4 (tax paid transfer).

-------------

If you wish to purchase one that is ALREADY an SBR, and the possessor is not in your state, and is NOTan NFA dealer, then

You pay for the gun, seller transfers to an NFA dealer in his state ($200 tax), dealer transfers to NFA dealer in your state (form 3 tax exempt), dealer sells to you on form 4 (tax paid transfer). Obviously, this 2-tax route is rarely cost effective

---------------------

If you wish to purchase one that is ALREADY an SBR, and the possessor is in your state, and is NOT an NFA dealer, then

You pay for the gun, seller transfers to directly to you on form 4 (tax paid transfer).

Same would apply for an SBR in posession of a dealer in your state.

-----------------------

SBR Ready

This is the easiest. The gun is in the configuration you want with a barrel extension soldered or welded or blind pinned in place to increase the barrel length to 16". The gun transfers as a title 1 firearm. On receipt, you file aform 1 (tax paid manufacture) and on approval, you cut off the barrel extension, or pay somone to do it for you.