PDA

View Full Version : Solvent Info Needed

UMR_Engnr
July 25, 2007, 12:57
Is there a source of information somewhere that details when to use which solvent. When would you use MEK instead of acetone? When to use alchohol? When not to use a certain chemical? Etc.

Or is it all just based on experience and passed from person to person?

ALL FAL
July 26, 2007, 02:28
Osha might have something, Your question is more of a common sense thing, and varies from each different application or need. Hope that helps.:biggrin:

brownknees
July 26, 2007, 08:49
This got me thinking, so I went net surfing for the information.

I found a gazillion sites, tables & lists of how bad for you solvents are, and a bunch of "we'll sell you solvents" sites, but nothing like a list of what to use when.

Surprising really. I guess a lot of it is based on experience after all.

Bentley8
July 26, 2007, 23:07
I'm a chemist with about 20 years experience. There is some information in tables here and there that do break down the relative polarity of many solvents, which can be helpful, provided you know the polarity of what you are trying to dissolve. It's the relationship between the two that is important. It's also a good idea to keep safety in mind, too. Many solvents are pretty bad on living things and should be used with care.

Is there anything in particular you are trying to dissolve?

brownknees
July 27, 2007, 08:26
Further digging has revealed a kind of "what not to use" table.
Basically it's a listing of what materials shouold be used (or not used) to store variious solvents.
It's not as clear-cut as use/don't use, more like "this will last 5 minutes & the other will last 6 months" type of thing. It relates mostly to plastics, but if that's any help I'll copy & post it for you.

A word of caution, based on expereience.