PDA

View Full Version : DSA Tactical front end torqued

arrow
June 11, 2007, 00:11
Sirs,
I have A DSA short gas system front end , Part # 00116TAC. I now have my DSA Type 2 upper receiver with out carry handle cut. I want to toque this barrel too this receiver. But I will need to remove the front sight and soldered gas block to put the barrel in the vice for the barrel torque.
I have read about using A wrench from very respected member on this sight
but I do not have one and have less than stellar results from using open end wrenches on other projects.
So...romove the gas block per Gunplumbers tape and index the barrel HOW?
Thank you for your addvice on my project.

Radio
June 11, 2007, 01:09
First, I LIKE it when you call me "sir". But you can skip that crap, I work for a living.

You have got a non-standard problem using that short gas system DSA barrel, probably with an StG short gas tube brazed on.

http://www.dsarms.com/images/00116TAC.gif

Chances are you will NOT be able to use a regular barrel vise. Sorry. But don't worry, there have been about a zillion barrels mounted on an FAL receiver that never even came within 100 miles of a barrel vise. That's what the barrel flats are for, and of all the FALs I've built, each and every blessed one of them was done with a slightly modified Craftsman 1-1/16" open-end wrench.

So... you don't trust that? Okay, try THIS.