PDA

View Full Version : Arizona Response Systems-DVD-Book

owlcreekok
December 11, 2006, 14:54
I have had the new production DVD and workbook for a few days now. Finally have watched the DVD's and went through the book. As an owner of the older set, I can say, "WOW,, Much improved version". Just the fact that the video is on DVD is a great leap forward. The audio and video is crisp. The book, while it does not lay flat like the three ring one does, I personally like this. I keeps me from laying it on the bench and screwing it up royally.

There are places where a little more detail would be nice, from the standpoint as if I had never "been there-done that". I can see where a complete beginner will be a bit fuzzy on some things at first. Watching the entire production, reading the workbook and some hands on your own rifle, all will come together.

I learned a large amount about the variants of the FN FAL weapons in watching this video. Sure, I had read much here on the FalFiles about them, but there is nothing like seeing it. Very informative as well as entertaining for the enthusiast.

The troubleshooting section is just great. This will get some play time. (re-runs)

Test firing. Well done. Addressing what point of impact constitutes a timing problem is a nice touch. I missed that the first time through. Sure wish I had that bit of info a few months ago. Lolol. I would go into some more detail on this section of the video, but I won't. Suffice to say is was just way cool to see the venerable FAL doing the "Happy Dance". :biggrin:

The background music is well chosen, nice touch.

The workbook is chock full of useful information. Specs, suppliers, etc. Invaluable to the "Level One" user as well as a professional, machinist, whatever. Back to the binding format. I would like to have certain pages to have at the bench. I shall ask Gunplumber for express permission to copy a few for lamination and benchtop usage.