PDA

View Full Version : Hello and questions from total newbie

JackalopeFALfan
September 16, 2001, 10:34
Aloha all...

Yesterday, after many months of desire, I finally got my first FAL. It's a frankenstein STG with an Imbel receiver and a smattering of American parts.

Anyway, I have never attempted any form of "homesmithing" and am wondering if you folks would help me a bit.

I am enthralled with that new Tapco muzzle break, and would really want to put one on my new baby, but I don't have a threaded barrel. I also realise that Tapco sells said barrels, but I know that I have to permanantly attach the muzzlebreak, or the ATF would shake their collective finger at me while *tsk*ing and throwing me in legirons. How do I go about permanantly attaching the muzzlebreak? I doubt locktite would be the official answer, but...

Also, I know of this video put out by (forget the name) that is a step-by-step on building the FAL by yourself. The company puts out all kinds of home 'smithing courses on video. Has anyone had any personal experience with this tape, and would they recommend it?

Anyway, I hope I'm not too green for everyone here. The FAL has been the apple of my eye for quite some time, and I have a feeling that this is going to be my first out of many.

Thanks! :D

The Jackalope

PS- oh yeah, and does anyone know if someone makes a "T-48" style handguard? I like the looks of that thing!

kithochang
September 16, 2001, 11:36
Bienvenidos und Willkommen.
Start by ordering Mr. Graham's FAL homesmithing video at http://www.arizonaresponsesystems.com/

While you wait for it to arrive, use the search feature on this website --it is all here.

Aloha!

kotengu
September 16, 2001, 11:43
First of all - welcome to the wonderful world of FAL's!