PDA

View Full Version : what was ORIGIONAL G1 finish?

stand watie
September 15, 2001, 11:01
received my handpicked G1 kit yesterday, when i got back from out of state.
while my finish is really cruddy, it appears to be BLUED in areas not open to wear/sunlight/etc.. could that be true?
for dixie,sw :D :confused:

EMDII
September 15, 2001, 11:19
The pics all indicate an apparent parkerized finish. None of the kits I've handled at Tapco had ANY enamelling a la contract FAL or L1A1. The StG-58 is similar, a dark parkerizing. Finish wear and cosmolene immersion tend to make it look greenish-blue, or brownish-blue.

FWIW- Parkerizing is my bet. Maybe Roland or other RKI who served in BGS or Bundeswehr can fill in the blank.

stand watie
September 15, 2001, 11:48
i was issued a G1 when i was an american liason officer to the BRD Land reserve army units (1970-71) & it was parked nearly black.
my G1 kit looks like commercial blued like a sporting rifle/shotgun, once i scrubbed the crud off.
who knows what the turks may have done over all those years??????
nonetheless, i'm pleased w/my re-cycled Tapco hp & can hardly wait to order a custom numbered upper and getting my DJV-issue REPLICA going!
for dixie, sw :confused: :) :)

EMDII
September 15, 2001, 12:49
Very good post DeanD. Especially the first-hand contact w/ the guys overseas.

Thanks

espeholt@hushmail.com
September 15, 2001, 12:56
I have an as new G1. It's painted black.
See pictures: www.espeholt.subnet.dk (http://www.espeholt.subnet.dk)
I would wish I could sell it to USA but I don't think BATF would like it.
Claus :eek:

LVACGAR
September 15, 2001, 17:07
Claus- very nice G1! Interesting that it has a type II receiver and plastic PG. It is a damned shame we could not buy it here.

lbcadden
September 15, 2001, 18:46
Claus,

Any info on the scope mount? Have not seen that type.

I am new to FAL's and am getting started with a G1 kit.

EMDII
September 15, 2001, 19:13