PDA

View Full Version : Machining raw forging?

wallpep
April 05, 2002, 17:22
Has anyone done a FAL raw forging? Is it difficult? What kind of tooling is required? How long did it take? I'm new to this type of rifle, matter of fact I'm absolutely clueless about the FAL, so any help is appreciated.

avanarts
April 05, 2002, 18:08
It would take far more than the average home workshop to finish one of those raw forgings. Every surface must be machined, every hole must be drilled, and every thread must be tapped.

I have one of the forgings that I bought just so I can say that I have one. It's a big heavy chunck of steel.

If someone would just market an 80% receiver for the FAL, that might be worth taking on.

[ April 05, 2002: Message edited by: asig220 ]

medicmike
April 05, 2002, 20:58
Thought about doing one of these but after looking into it I decided it was well beyond my machining skills. Lots of milling operations. An 80% reciever would be wonderful if someone would start making them!

bushka
April 05, 2002, 23:15
max you are truly mad,unless you can read a blueprint,have a milling machine of some sort and all the attendant tooling/clamping accesories and measuring tools,forget it.
but if you don`t care about how it ends up looking it is possible to get a functioning far away facsimile of a fal with a drillpress
and vice.etc.if you go on the cheap please realize that it will take at least 1/100th
the amount of time it takes to scrape one out
as it does to just buy one done outright.

blackbird
April 06, 2002, 02:30