April 15, 2006, 13:48
came across these guys this morning when i was trout fishing with my boy

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y24/rcnpthfndr/197c1d13.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y24/rcnpthfndr/0035af6d.jpg

http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y24/rcnpthfndr/201b8038.jpg

i am new to PA, so i am not sure what kind they are

L1A1formeplz
April 15, 2006, 13:51
Eastern water snake. Not poisonous at all, well bacteria in its mouth can make you sick. Their teeth are like fish hooks so if you get bit, well it's gonna put a hurt on you to remove teeth. They usually will slither off if'n ya leave em alone. But like I said you mess with em and those fish hook teeth are gonna make ya cry like a little boy whos ice cream just fell on the dirt floor.

Windustsearch
April 15, 2006, 13:54
Northern water snake, harmless.

rcnpthfndr
April 15, 2006, 13:56
thanks, for the info. there were 6 total on the bridge and bank.

L1A1formeplz
April 15, 2006, 14:03
http://www.angelfire.com/ab6/jnjkapfer/northern_water_snake.htm

Good link to find out more info and I apologize for saying Eastern, they are oftem mistaken for their eastern friend the water moccasin.

fusalautoleger
April 15, 2006, 16:14
its a banded water snake ..there are bands on it

Windustsearch
April 15, 2006, 19:02
There are also bands on northern and southern watersnakes.

Andy the Aussie
April 15, 2006, 19:02
There is the difference between the US and here, something that "looks" like that here is generally very very poisonous...!!! Unless it is obviously a python here it is probably going to put a real hurt on you...:eek:

rcnpthfndr ......I generally see more snakes out trout fishing than I do at any other time in the bush.....makes it a "interesting" sport out here..... ;)

Andy :beer:

fusalautoleger
April 15, 2006, 20:37
andy the aussie every thing thats a snake is bad news where you live that would look like a king brown where you live..

rcnpthfndr
April 15, 2006, 20:45